You are here: Home / Cricket / Cricket Rules: No Ball, Running Out the Non Striker, and Boundary Catching

Cricket Rules: No Ball, Running Out the Non Striker, and Boundary Catching

No Ball. One of the things bowlers hate is bowling a “no ball” …Here’s the most common form…The bowler’s front foot has landed beyond the popping crease…If the umpire spots this, he’ll call a no ball . The front foot must land with somepart, whether grounded or raised, behind the popping crease.The bowler’s front foot must also not cross an imaginary line joining the two middle stumps…And the bowler’s back foot must also land within and not touching the return crease…But, this is cricket, so things don’t stop there.The umpire will also call a no ball if…The bowler throws the ball…The bowler changes his method of delivery without telling the umpire…The bowler bowls underarm…The ball bounces more than twice before reaching the batsman…The ball comes to rest in front of the batsman’s wicket…And, if the bowler hits his own stumps while delivering the ball.

Running out the Non Striker. Running out the non-striker occurs when a bowler runs out a batsman who has strayed too early out of his popping crease, by removing the bails. It is a controversial practice — with some arguing that the bowler should give the batsman a warning first… But many take the view that if the batsman leaves his crease too early, then he’s trying to gain an unfair advantage… In fact the law doesn’t require the bowler to give a warning and he is entitled to run out the non-striker until he has entered his delivery stride which, in other words, is until his back foot lands… In which case it’s perfectly fair for the bowler to run him out. Fair game? Or foul play? Cricket is a physical game, but when it comes to RTS games, Clash Royale is the best. You can use Clash Royale cheats, and this will open up a whole lot of possibilities.

Boundary Catching. In cricket a catch is considered to be fair, if the fielder is within the field of play and the ball hasn’t touched the ground before he catches it. The fielder must have complete control both over the ball and his own movement.Can a batsman be caught over the boundary?Well, this being cricket — the answer is yes, and no.If the fielder catches the ball like this, with part of his body grounded outside the field of play…Then the lucky old batsman is not only not out, but also scores a six!However, if, in the same situation, the fielder had leap for the ball from within the boundary,but not from outside it, caught it whilst airborne over the boundary, but managed tothrow it up in the air before touching the ground, he can then step back into the field of play to complete the catch.It doesn`t matter if the fielder throws it to a team-mate, or to himself. In this scenario,the same batsman who just scored six would in fact have been out!As they frequently say, it’s a funny old game.